You are here: Home / About Us / Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Members of the NZ Windfarms Board of Directors
Derek Walker, ChairmanDerek Walker

Derek is a professional company director and business consultant with previous experience in a variety of senior management positions in the electricity industry to Chief Executive level.  He holds an honours degree in electrical engineering and a business studies degree.  His association with wind farms began in 1992 when he was Managing Director of CentralPower Limited.  This culminated with the building of the first stage of the Tararua Wind Farm by CentralPower in 1998.  (The completed wind farm was subsequently sold to TrustPower as part of industry reforms to split line and energy functions). 

Derek is presently a director of a number of other companies including Palmerston North Airport Limited, Quotable Value Limited, Speirs Group Limited and The Bio Commerce Centre Limited, and is a trustee of the Central Energy Trust.


Simon Mackenzie

Simon Mackenzie v 2

Simon has been with Vector since 1998 in a range of operational, strategic and leadership roles, and was appointed Group Chief Executive Officer in February 2008, following a period as acting CEO.

With extensive experience in the energy sector, including strategy, regulation, network management, information technology and telecommunications, Simon also has had  construction and consultancy experience in Europe and Australia. He has tertiary qualifications in engineering, business studies and finance, and has completed the Advanced Management Programme at Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Vicki Buck
Vicki Buck

Vicki spends most of her time in the Renewable Energy space, especially in new companies. She is a director of Aquaflow Bionomic, and Carbonscape. She has a MA(Hons) degree from Canterbury University in Political Science and an honorary PhD from Lincoln University, in commerce.

She was Mayor of Christchurch from 1989 until she stood down in 1998. 

Vicki has been a director on many boards including Windflow Technology Limited, the Reserve Bank, Christchurch International Airport Limited, Netball NZ, Jade Stadium and a raft of others.  She also has an interest in education and chairs the Learning Discovery Trust which has established two new state schools  (Discovery1 and Unlimited) in Christchurch based on discovery learning.


Michael Stiassny

Michael Stiassny for web 2

Michael Stiassny has widespread experience in all matters financial.  Michael is currently the senior partner of KordaMentha in New Zealand - a chartered accountancy firm specialising in financial consulting work.

Michael is currently Chairman of Vector Limited and The New Zealand Racing Board, and is a Director of a number of private and public companies.

Michael is a Fellow of Institute of Directors (FinstD) and a Council Member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand Inc.


Julian Elder

Dr Julian Elder was appointed effective from 28 April 2014.  Julian has a Bachelor of Engineering (First Class Honours) and Ph.D. from Auckland University and is a Chartered Professional Engineer (NZ International Register of Professional Engineers).  Julian has a wide range of local and international management experience and seven years as a Utility Chief Executive.  Julian has had extensive involvement in infrastructure businesses, having worked in the electricity and water/wastewater sectors.  Julian is a Director of Strada, a civil contracting business owned by the Waikato District Council, the Chair of Soda Inc which is the Business Incubator in Hamilton, a Trustee of the Animal Welfare Foundation and has been appointed to the Honours Committee at the University of Waikato.